Follow us on LinkedInFollow us on TwitterFollow us on FacebookFollow us on Instagram

Working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

NT Aboriginal Investment Corporation Interim Board

The NT Aboriginal Investment Corporation (NTAIC) Interim Board members are diverse with a range of cultural, land and financial expertise. The 12-member Interim Board includes two representatives from each of the four NT Land Councils, two independent directors appointed by Australian Government and two independent directors yet to be appointed by the Interim Board.

Mr Samuel Bush-Blanasi – Co-Chair

Mr Bush-BlanasiMr Bush-Blanasi is a Mayili man from Wugularr (Beswick) community in the Katherine region who has spent his life advocating for the interests of Aboriginal people in remote communities.

Currently serving his eighth term as a Member of the Northern Land Council and his third term as NLC Chair, Mr Bush-Blanasi has served on numerous boards and committees including the North Australian Indigenous Land and Sea Management Alliance Ltd, Aboriginal Housing Northern Territory Aboriginal Corporation, Aboriginal Peak Organisations Northern Territory, Imparja Television, Aboriginal Investment Group, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission and the Aboriginals Benefits Account Advisory Committee.

Ms Barbara Shaw – Co-Chair

Ms ShawMs Shaw, a Kaytetye, Arrernte, Warramunga and Warlpiri woman is an Executive Member of the Central Land Council (CLC).

Ms Shaw is a youth worker in Alice Springs and is on the committee for the Aboriginal Areas Protection Authority. She contributed to the Uluru Statement from the Heart and is a director for Eynewantheyne Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC. Ms Shaw has been Co-Chair of Aboriginal Housing NT and former deputy Chair of the CLC. She was former co-coordinator of the Tangentyere Women’s Family Safety group.

Ms Shaw was employed on the Royal Commission into the Protection and Detention of Children in the NT in 2017 and contributed to the establishment of the Central Australian Affordable Housing Company in 2008.

Mr Thomas Amagula

Mr AmagulaMr Amagula is a respected Anindilyakwa leader who was elected to the Anindilyakwa Land Council (ALC) Board in 2018 and currently serves as ALC Deputy Chair. Mr Amagula has a strong background working for the Dhimurru Rangers in Gove, helping establish the Ranger Program on Groote Eylandt, and developing pathways to indigenous employment through his work with the Gumatj Gulkula Regional Training Centre in Gove and as ALC Workforce Development Officer. Mr Amagula has also served on the Board of the Groote Eylandt Aboriginal Trust, as Deputy Chair of Miwatj Health, and as proxy for ABA Advisory Committee meetings. Mr Amagula is particularly passionate about supporting indigenous employment and building a strong and sustainable future for his people.

Mr Bradley Bara

Mr Bara is an emerging Anindilyakwa leader who was elected as Umbakumba Community Representative on the Anindilyakwa Land Council (ALC) Board in 2021. Mr Bara also serves as the Chair of the Anindilyakwa Advancement Aboriginal Corporation, the majority shareholder in the traditional-owner controlled Winchelsea Mine on Groote Eylandt, and as a director of Groote Holdings Aboriginal Corporation, which is responsible for developing major infrastructure, assets and services for the social and economic benefit of all traditional owners of the Groote Archipelago. Mr Bara is also a well-known artist and musician through his involvement with local band, Mambali.

Mr Richard Dixon

Mr DixonRichard Dixon is a Garawa man from Robinson River and is the senior Traditional Owner for the community area lease. He was recently elected and appointed as the Deputy Chairman in December 2020. He is a member and former director of the Gulf Savannah NT Aboriginal Corporation, whose principal function is to provide community development program services to the Gulf region. He is also a member and former Chairman of the Mungoorbada Aboriginal Corporation, which delivers a range of essential services to Robinson River residents, including through its community store. His vision is to help his people and the government to work together.

Mr Gibson Farmer Illortaminni

Mr IllortaminniMr Gibson Farmer Illortaminni is a senior Elder of the Mantiyupwi people and is the Chairman of the Tiwi Land Council.

Mr Illortaminni was an early supporter of the formation of the Tiwi Land Council in 1978. Mr Illortaminni has successfully represented the interests of his people in land claims over the Vernon Islands. He is a strong advocate for education and training, and the creation and security of jobs on the Islands for Tiwi people and he was also a strong foundation member of the Tiwi Health Board.

He has a background in Mental Health and was involved in the Australian Institution for Suicide and Prevention - Youth Suicide Australia with Charles Sturt University studying at Wagga Wagga.

Mr Leslie Tungatulum

Mr TungatulumMr Leslie Tungatalum is a Miyartuwi (Pandanus) elder and is a member of the Tiwi Land Council.

Mr Tungatalum currently serves as Mayor of the Tiwi Islands Regional Council and is a member of the Tiwi Land Council. He is also the Director of Pirntubula Pty Ltd and a key member of a range of boards and committees, including the Bathurst Island Housing Association, Nguiu Ullintjinni Association and Chairman of the Tiwi Islands Training and Employment Board.

Mr Derek Walker

Mr WalkerMr Walker is a Delegate (Region 6-Tennant Creek) of the Central Land Council.

Mr Walker lives at Alekarenge, north-east of Alice Springs and speaks Warlpiri and Warrumungu. He currently works at the Alekarenge school. Mr Walker is a member of the Alekarenge community development working group, which works to allocate income from land-use agreements to community benefit projects at Alekerange. Mr Walker is also a member of the Alekarenge local authority and the shop committee. He is also on the Barkly Regional Council. Mr Walker is a community leader who aims to lead the way for younger generations.

Ms Suzanne Hullick

Ms HullickAppointed by the Australian Government, Ms Suzanne Hullick was recently appointed 2022 Group Head of Inclusion & Diversity for the Westpac Group to support organisational change in all aspects of gender equality, inclusive leadership and diversity in the workforce.

Ms Hullick was previously Westpac’s National Head of Indigenous Banking and the State GM SANTAS. She is currently a Non-executive director of the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation.

Ms Hullick is passionate about developing and empowering people, and in 2013 was recognised as the Overall Women of Influence for Westpac and a Bicentennial Service Honour in 2017.

Mr Justin Ryan

Mr RyanAppointed by the Australian Government, Mr Justin Ryan is Managing Director of Glow Capital Partners – a growth focused private equity investment firm, which he co‑founded in 2021.

Prior to this Mr Ryan was a Managing Partner of Quadrant Private Equity (10 years) and before that Managing Director and CEO of Alesco Corporation Limited (6 years) - an ASX 200 listed company (now part of Dulux Corporation). Mr Ryan has previously been on the boards of the Benevolent Society (7 years) and the National Institute of Dramatic Art (7 years). Mr Ryan is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia. Justin has a Bachelor or Economics and Laws from the University of Sydney and an MBA from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.