Follow us on LinkedInFollow us on XFollow us on FacebookFollow us on Instagram

Working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Travel restrictions for remote communities – COVID-19

Travel restrictions for remote communities – COVID-19

Indigenous Affairs Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Friday, 27 March 2020

National Indigenous Australians Agency

The Australian Government has announced travel restrictions for remote communities to help protect them from Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Movement into some remote areas has been restricted from midnight Thursday 26 March 2020.

Anyone wishing to enter designated areas will need to self-isolate for 14 days before they can enter.

This is a requirement made by the Minister for Health under the Commonwealth’s Biosecurity Act 2015.

The new restrictions also apply to residents of communities in these areas who leave and if they want to return then they have to self-isolate for 14 days.

Each state and territory government has designated where travel restrictions apply.

To find out where designated areas area, click on the ‘Keeping remote communities safe’ link below.

Governments will support people who do not have appropriate alternate arrangements to self-isolate.

Essential service personnel will be exempt from the restrictions so they can keep delivering important services and supplies, as long as they meet health requirements and are symptom free.

Even essential services personnel must avoid contact with people in the area as much as possible while they are delivering the essential service.

People should remain in their remote communities unless it is essential for them to leave for medical treatment.

People in remote communities must also continue to observe the social-distancing rules like keeping at least 1.5 metres away from other people and no groups of more than nine people at any time.

More information including the designated areas with travel restrictions is available at Keeping remote communities safe and by visiting