Follow us on LinkedInFollow us on TwitterFollow us on FacebookFollow us on Instagram

Working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Indigenous Evaluation Committee members

Indigenous AffairsEvaluations and EvidenceIndigenous Evaluation Committee
Wednesday, 05 January 2022
Publication author(s):
National Indigenous Australians Agency
Independent Member – Dr Wendy Jarvie

Dr Wendy Jarvie is an Adjunct Professor in the Public Sector Research Group, School of Business, University of New South Wales Canberra where she undertakes research in public policy and learning from evaluation, as well as working for the World Bank in the Pacific on early childhood development and vocational education programs.

Dr Jarvie has extensive experience in monitoring and evaluation in the Australian Government and in the World Bank in Washington. She spent seven years (2001- 2008) as a Deputy Secretary in the Commonwealth Departments of Education, Science and Training and Education, Employment and Workplace Relations. In the World Bank (1998-2001) she was a manager of corporate evaluations in the Operations Evaluation Department.

She has had long engagement with Indigenous communities, policy and programs, including seven years’ oversight of Australian Government Aboriginal education programs, and five years (2003–2007) as co-chair of the steering committee for the COAG trial in Murdi Paaki. She is currently chairing the steering committee for the evaluation of the Opportunity, Choice, Healing, Responsibility, Empowerment (OCHRE) program for the NSW Department of Aboriginal Affairs.

Independent Member – Dr Fiona Cram

Dr Fiona CramDr Fiona Cram is an Ngāti Pahauwera woman from Aotearoa New Zealand. Dr Cram is a prominent Maori evaluator with expertise in Indigenous led research and evaluation.

Dr Cram has a PhD in social and developmental psychology from the University of Otago. She has lectured in Social Psychology and has also been a Senior Research Fellow within the International Research Institute of Māori and Indigenous Education at the University of Auckland. In the middle of 2003, Fiona established Katoa Ltd, which is a Māori Indigenous research organisations as well as offering a range of research and evaluation training.

Dr Cram’s research interests are wide-ranging including Māori health, justice, and education. The over-riding theme of Fiona's work is Kaupapa Māori (by Māori, for Māori). Fiona is Editor-in-Chief of the Aotearoa New Zealand Evaluation Association (ANZEA) new evaluation journal, Evaluation Matters - He Take Tō Te Aromatawai, published by the NZCER.

Deputy Chief Executive Officer Operations & Delivery - Letitia Hope

Letitia HopeLetitia Hope is the Deputy Chief Executive Officer for Policy and Programs at the National Indigenous Australians Agency. A proud Bundjalung (Northern Rivers NSW), Torres Strait Islander and South Pacific Islander woman.

Over the past 28 years, Letitia has had a varied and wide career working across Commonwealth and State governments in both mainstream and specialised social policy development, program management and service delivery across human services, housing, health and community services, Veterans Affairs and Indigenous Affairs.

Letitia holds a deep rooted and demonstrated commitment to delivering the art and science of excellence in public sector leadership and management and serving the government of the day impartially with diligence. Letitia is one of the inaugural members of the Australian Public Service Academy faculty and is a council member of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (ACT) 2021-2023.

Letitia has held various Senior Executive roles including Deputy CEO/Chief Operating Officer (COO), Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS); Assistant Secretary, Health and Community Service Programmes Department of Veterans Affairs (DVA); and National Manager Service Transformation, Centrelink.  

Letitia holds an Executive Masters of Public Administration through the ANU and a Graduate Certificate in Management (Public Sector) through the RMIT.

Back to Resource Centre